The corpus › Sources

JPSN Annual Report — one program reporting on itself, for two years

dew-jpsn-annual-report · cited by 1 node

Source. Ohio Department of Education and Workforce, Jon Peterson Special Needs Scholarship Annual Report, FY23 and FY24 editions, covering the 2022-2023 and 2023-2024 school years. Type. Primary source, published by the program administrator under R.C. 3310.51. Location. https://education.ohio.gov/getattachment/About/Annual-Reports/FY23_JPSN_Annual_Report.pdf.aspx?lang=en-US and the same path with FY24. 535,051 and 507,089 bytes, six pages each — a cover and five numbered ones — letter size, retrievable by a self-identifying agent. Pinned as jpsn-annual-2023 and jpsn-annual-2024.

What it contains. The two editions are the same document with the year changed. Table of contents; an executive summary naming the program’s origin in 2012 and its eligibility route through an ETR and an IEP; Scholarship Award Categories, which is a six-row table headed FY <year> (July 1, <y-1> – June 30, <y>) with a # column and a Maximum Dollar Amount per Year column; Program Participation and Expenditures, holding a total-applications bar chart, the participation sentence, a students-by-grade-level bar chart, a percentage-per-disability-category pie chart and a District of Residence paragraph; Statewide Expenditures with a funds-spent-per-category chart; and a Providers page that counts providers and links out to a directory rather than listing them. Each page foots N | JPSN Annual Report | <year>.

Both cite R.C. 3310.51, R.C. 3317.022 and O.A.C. chapter 3301-101.

The figures this corpus takes from them, beside the FY2025 figures the consolidated report carries for the same program:

FY2023FY2024FY2025
Students served8,1868,5518,680
Approved providers439500530
Districts of residence487495494
Expenditure, summed from the chart$81,773,133.70$95,362,957.53$103,944,388.15
Expenditure stated in words$81,773,133.70not statednot stated

That is three consecutive years and this program’s first published year-on-year change: participation up 4.5% and then 1.5%, providers up faster than students in both years, and districts of residence rising once and then falling by one while participation kept growing. The reach saturated near the four-fifths of Ohio’s districts both editions claim in prose — “nearly 80 percent” in FY23, “over 80 percent” in FY24 — while the program kept growing inside it.

Why it matters here. It is the only thing in this corpus that measures any scholarship program’s participation between FY2013 and FY2025. The channel-wide hole the historical archive and the consolidated report bracket was FY2014 through FY2023; these two editions make it FY2014 through FY2022, for one of five programs. Four programs still have nothing in it.

These two editions were published together, and late Contents

Recorded because the obvious story — a department serving one edition at a time and deleting each as it posts the next — is not what the evidence says, and the difference bears on which year the FY23 edition’s figures describe.

Both PDFs were exported from Word on one afternoon. Their internal metadata gives Acrobat PDFMaker 20 for Word and Adobe PDF Library 20.5.43 for both, with FY24 created 25 March 2025 at 13:29:59 EDT and FY23 at 13:49:15 EDT — twenty minutes apart, FY24 first, and nine months after FY2024 closed.

The Annual Reports page carried neither of them before that. Read through the Wayback Machine on 25 September 2026: the 1 June 2023 capture holds 93 getattachment links and three JPSN reports — FY2016-JPSN-Board-Report.pdf, FY2017-JPSN-Annual-Report.pdf, JPSN-Report-FY20.pdf. The 1 June 2024 capture holds 56 links and no JPSN report of any vintage, and neither does the 1 February 2025 capture at 48 links. The 1 June 2025 and 1 August 2025 captures hold FY23 and FY24 and nothing older. The 1 June 2026 capture holds those two beside the consolidated report.

Neither PDF is archived before July 2025. The Wayback index holds exactly one capture of each, both on 8 July 2025, 47 seconds apart — a crawl rather than a publication date, and no help in dating the posting beyond ruling nothing out. Its recorded lengths of 494,461 and 467,077 bytes are the capture records and not the files; the pinned bytes are the sizes above.

So: three older editions served through mid-2023, all three gone by mid-2024, and two new ones produced in a single sitting in spring 2025. That is a lapse in reporting followed by a catch-up, not a rolling replacement — and it means the FY23 edition was never served during FY2023 or FY2024. What it does not establish is when the FY23 content was assembled. A re-export of a 2023 Word document and a document written from scratch in 2025 leave the same trace.

Two things in them that do not reconcile Contents

The one expenditure total stated in words is dated to another year. The FY23 edition’s Statewide Expenditures section opens on the House Bill 110 transition — “Prior to the 2021-2022 school year, funds used to award scholarships were deducted from the district…” — and closes with “Total expenditures for the JPSN program during the 2021-2022 school year sum to $81,773,133.70.” in a report headed FY 2023 throughout. The phrase naming the year is the same phrase that opens the paragraph four sentences earlier, which is where a copy error would come from. The FY24 edition deletes the sentence and keeps the paragraph and the chart — a deletion rather than a correction, which is consistent with someone finding it wrong and is not evidence of what the right year was.

What the sentence does establish is arithmetic: $81,773,133.70 is the sum of the six category figures printed directly beneath it, to the cent. The department totals this chart itself, once, and that is what licenses summing the same chart in the two editions that state nothing — including the $103,944,388.15 the consolidated report’s Jon Peterson section implies and never writes.

The FY23 and FY24 editions print the same award table, and it is FY2024’s. All six maxima agree to the dollar: $8,941, $11,632, $17,863, $21,433, $26,480, $30,000. That is H.B. 33’s schedule for FY2024. Two LSC analyses, H.B. 110’s and H.B. 33’s, state FY2023’s, and it runs $7,976 to $27,000. The FY24 edition and the consolidated report print their own years’ enacted schedules exactly.

This entry used to read each table as a uniform fraction of one statutory vector, recomputed by index each year, and so read two editions printing one table as an index that stood still. The fractions are real, 0.8901 and then 0.9542, but they are ratios of enacted schedules to H.B. 96’s. 0.9542 is $32,445 over $34,000, because H.B. 96 raised every position alike. H.B. 33 raised categories one to five 12.1% between FY2023 and FY2024.

So the FY23 edition prints the schedule for the year after its own, which fits the two files being produced together. The spending chart’s 11.6% rise per student tracks the schedule’s 12.1%, so nothing makes that chart lag its heading. Pinned in crates/project/tests/the_ceilings_the_budget_acts_wrote.rs, and held in program/jon-peterson-special-needs. What stays open is the expenditure sentence’s “2021-2022”.

What the department and the Legislative Service Commission disagree about Contents

FY2024 is the only fiscal year both publishers describe, so it is the only place either can be checked against the other. They agree on the money and on nothing else.

FY2024DepartmentLSC
Expenditure$95,362,957.53, summed from the chartabout $95.4 million
Students8,551about 7,800
Providers500454

The dollars round to each other, which is the strongest independent evidence in the lineage that a given edition’s spending chart belongs to the fiscal year on its cover. The counts do not: the department’s participation figure sits 9.6% above LSC’s, and its provider count is 46 above a figure LSC gives unhedged — LSC’s 454 falling between the department’s own FY2023 and FY2024 counts, so a reader holding both documents and no third could take it for either year. Nothing says the two count the same population; the department counts providers approved to participate and LSC’s sentence counts providers students received services from. The disagreement is pinned in the_two_publishers_agree_on_the_money_and_not_on_the_counts rather than resolved, and Bound::spliceable deliberately does not treat a count like LSC’s as joinable to this series.

What it is not Contents

It is not the series that would fill the hole, though it prints one. Every edition opens Program Participation with a bar chart of total applications by fiscal year — ten bars in FY23 (2014 to 2023), eleven in FY24, and twelve in the consolidated report, FY2014 through FY2025, which is the hole and both its edges. Applications counted separately from scholarships paid is exactly the second denominator the historical archive maintains and the shape of evidence the consolidated report’s unexplained averages need. None of the bars carries a data label. pdftotext reaches the y-axis gridlines — 0 to 10,000 in thousands, written 10000 in FY23 and 10,000 in FY24 — the x-axis years and the legend, and nothing else. The same is true of the students-by-grade-level chart on the following page, whose two table-of-contents entries carry no heading text at all. Recovering those values means reading the charts’ geometry, which is a different instrument from the one this connector uses, and this corpus does not attempt them.

It is not a per-district or per-provider file, and it cites both. Each edition says a breakdown of students per school district “can be found here” and that the reader may “view the breakdown of how many scholarship recipients each provider worked with”, linking to https://reports.education.ohio.gov/report/nonpublic-data-jon-peterson-special-needs-report and to the Ohio Scholarship Providers Interactive Directory. The first is the same portal the consolidated report points at, and a status code from it is worth nothing: probed 2026-09-15 on #10, every path on that host returns the byte-identical Angular shell and the reports behind it are Power BI embeds behind an entitlement an anonymous token does not carry. What stands is that two current departmental documents cite these breakdowns and nothing this project can fetch carries them.

It is not the whole lineage. Three earlier editions exist only in the archive — FY2016-JPSN-Board-Report.pdf, FY2017-JPSN-Annual-Report.pdf and JPSN-Report-FY20.pdf, all three served from the live page as late as June 2023 and gone by June 2024. They are admissible under an-archived-source-is-still-a-source and are deliberately not extracted here. Between them they would add FY2016, FY2017 and FY2020 to a series that currently starts at FY2023, and whether they carry labeled charts is unknown.

It is not the deduct era, and it describes its end. Both editions’ Statewide Expenditures section states that scholarships were deducted from the district of residence before the 2021-2022 school year and that House Bill 110 eliminated the mechanism in favor of direct funding. That is the department’s own account of what the-deduct-was-abolished-not-hidden records, in the department’s own words, and the figures either side of it are post-deduction throughout.

Cited by Contents