The corpus › Formula Component
FSFP Local Capacity Measure
The Fair School Funding Plan’s replacement for the charge-off, and the component that most changes which districts win and lose. Rather than asking what a fixed millage would raise against valuation, it asks what a district’s community can bear — and the answer is a blend, weighted 60% assessed property valuation per pupil, 20% federal adjusted gross income per pupil, and 20% federal median income per pupil, scaled by a local capacity percentage. verified
formula-component/fsfp-local-capacity-measure · 13 nodes point here · 12 corrections
That 60/20/20 split is the substance of the reform. Property alone treated a district with expensive housing and modest household earnings as wealthy; splitting the income term into an aggregate measure (total AGI, which rises with population and with a few very high earners) and a median measure (which does not) captures a district whose totals look healthy because of concentration at the top. inference
The scaling factor is where the progressivity actually lives, and it is a sliding scale, not a constant. A district’s local capacity percentage is set by the ratio of its federal median income to the state’s, benchmarked against the 40th highest district on that ratio: at or above that benchmark the rate is 2.5%; below the state median it is the district’s own ratio times 2.25%; between the two it interpolates. verified A district at half the state median income is charged local capacity at roughly 1.125% of its blended wealth, while a wealthy district pays 2.5% — so the measure is progressive in rate as well as in base.
Both wealth terms are computed as the lesser of the most recent year and a three-year average — valuation from TY20 against TY18-20, income from TY19 against TY17-19 in the FY2022 calculation. verified Taking the lesser is a deliberate protection: a district whose valuation spikes on a single reappraisal is not immediately charged for it.
The benchmark is a rank, not a value Contents
R.C. 3317.017(A)(4)(c)–(d) writes a rank, not a value. Districts are ranked by the ratio of their federal median income to the statewide median, and the district with the fortieth highest ratio is the point at which the capacity percentage caps at 0.025. verified
What this repository computed Contents
Not what Ohio publishes. Figures derived here from committed fixtures, each one citing the test that reproduces it.
That is a large fact about how the measure actually operates. For those 138 districts the entire apparatus above — the three wealth terms, the 60/20/20 blend, the progressive rate schedule, the 40th-highest-district benchmark — determines nothing. Their aid is a flat percentage of base cost. The measure’s discrimination stops at the point where a fifth of Ohio’s districts sit, and doubling the floor moved that point without changing anything the formula computes.
It also censors the data. Where the floor binds, local capacity per pupil is not recoverable from published aid by subtraction: all that can be said is that it exceeds 90% of base cost. verified
Against the mechanism it replaced Contents
verified crates/regime-diff, the corpus’s only aligned
component pair, run at FY2027 base cost with only the local share substituted and the
charge-off taken against recognized valuation at TY2024
The income terms do what they were built to do, and they do it in both directions. Ottawa Hills Local — high income, unremarkable valuation — is charged 101% more by local capacity than a 23-mill charge-off would ask. Jefferson Township Local — high valuation, low income — is charged 22% less. The district the charge-off treated as the richer of the two is the one this measure treats as poorer. verified
The half that gets less attention is the second one. Local capacity is usually described as catching wealth the charge-off missed; it also relieves districts whose property wealth overstated what their residents could bear — and on the charge-off’s own base that half is the larger one. At FY2027 base cost 316 of 606 districts would have received more under the charge-off against 290 under this measure, and the median district is $45 per pupil worse off under the plan. A reform described only as tightening is being described by half. verified
Across wealth the change of mechanism favors the top, and only the top. Mean gain per pupil against the charge-off, by valuation quintile: −$118.47, −$231.81, −$294.46, −$365.14, +$632.23. Only the wealthiest quintile does better under this measure; the four below it all did better under the charge-off, and the gradient runs the wrong way — the poorer the quintile, the less it loses. The minimum state share is part of the top quintile’s gain — the charge-off had no floor and would zero out 65 districts entirely — and here it is most of it: splitting that quintile by whether the charge-off would have zeroed it gives $900.40 to the 65 that it would and $326.41 to the other 57. verified
So this measure is more discriminating than the charge-off about which districts are wealthy and simultaneously more generous to wealthy districts overall. Those are not in tension — the first is about the ordering and the second about the level — but a claim that cites one without the other is quoting half the result. inference
The shape of that incidence is not an artifact of the year; the level of the comparison partly is. Recognized valuation defers most where a reappraisal was largest, and Ohio’s TY2023-24 cycle deferred 8.20% of taxable value against the roughly 2% the Legislative Service Commission puts the long-run effect at, so the statewide margins above would be narrower in an ordinary year. verified
The measure is published per district Contents
The FY2027 calculator’s Detail_SFPR sheet carries [b1] Per Pupil Capacity Amount for
every district. Nothing here read that sheet. The corpus instead derived capacity as base
cost minus the state’s share of it, which is exact for 471 districts and impossible for the
138 where the minimum state share binds — and those are precisely the districts where
capacity is highest and the subtraction understates it, so they were censored rather than
reported wrong. verified
The two agree where both exist, to 0.46% at worst, which is the retrospective check on
the subtraction and the reason to trust the eleven phases of work built on it. The 138 are no
longer censored. verified crates/project/tests/finances_and_the_guarantee.rs
The calculator reproduces the department’s figure exactly Contents
verified crates/local-capacity, in
crates/xcheck/tests/against_the_departments_own_capacity.rs
crates/local-capacity was written from the statute and had never been run against anything.
It is right.
How this was got wrong first, because the route matters more than the result. An earlier
pass reconstructed the inputs from the workbook’s Valuation & Income sheet and inferred the
rest, producing a capacity 4.4% light with a residual that correlated with none of the three
terms — a near-uniform scale error, which is the signature of a shared input rather than a
structural mistake. Chasing it turned up a sheet named Local_Capacity that works the entire
statute step by step, with its own labels, [V1] and [I1] through [C7].
Every inferred input was the wrong one:
term inferred published (Columbus)
median income Ohio median 31,555 federal 46,395 [I5], adjusted
tax returns 142,349 272,169 [I6], adjusted
statewide median income 41,502 54,546.64 [I7], federal
benchmark ratio 1.4151 reconstructed 1.46504 [C5], published
On the published inputs the residual is zero. The 4.4% gap was not a finding about Ohio; it was the cost of not opening a sheet. verified
The bottom two rows are one error, not two, and both said something about the measure that is
not true. Substituting the Ohio median for the federal one moves every district’s figure, so it
also moves their median and the ranking built on it — the 41,502 and the 1.4151 are the 31,555
propagating, counted a second and third time. Read from the federal column both statewide
constants come back exactly: the median of the 609 district medians is $54,546.6375,
which is [I7] to the last digit, and the fortieth-highest ratio is Westlake City’s
1.46503636, which is [C5]. verified crates/local-capacity, held to the department’s figures in
crates/xcheck/tests/against_the_departments_own_capacity.rs
So nothing in this measure is a number anybody chooses, and the entry above recording [I7] as
“published rather than derivable” and [C5] as discretionary was a wrong input read as a fact
about the statute. R.C. 3317.017(A)(4)(a) defines the denominator as the median of the district
medians and (A)(4)(c)-(d) defines the benchmark as a rank over them; both are what the text says
they are. That also closes the question of the fortieth ratio’s value — what remains open is
only why the fortieth. verified
Why the fortieth, out of 609, is not stated in the section — and no budget analysis states it
either. Of the twelve committed LSC greenbooks and both editions of H.B. 96’s, exactly one
mentions the benchmark: H.B. 110’s, which sets it out twice in a formula box inside an account
of the capacity percentage that carries no justifying word anywhere in it. verified crates/project
That absence is informative rather than empty, because LSC argues for the threshold this one replaced. H.B. 94 does not merely state parity aid’s 80th percentile; it spends two paragraphs and a chart on it — “the use of the 80th percentile as the threshold helps reduce disparities in local spending above the adequacy level”, against the fact that “the top wealthiest 20 percent of school districts … consistently have much higher per pupil revenues” — and H.B. 95 restates the reason the following biennium. Giving the reason is what LSC does when the act supplies one. verified
A threshold written as a rank is the house convention, and this one reversed its direction Contents
The rank itself is not the novelty. Every Ohio equalization formula this corpus can reach names a district rather than a dollar figure: equity aid at its FY1998 peak equalized to the 48th percentile district, H.B. 94’s own equity aid to the 118th lowest-wealth district and its parity aid to the 490th, H.B. 119 narrowed who qualified for parity aid while leaving that 490th in place, and tier one targeted assistance was still on the 490th under H.B. 59 twelve years later. verified
What changed is which end the count starts from, and that follows from what the two devices do. A rank counted from the bottom names the districts that qualify — parity aid paid the 490 poorest and nobody else. A rank counted from the top names the districts that are capped: every district is charged local capacity, and the fortieth is where the charge stops being progressive. So the earlier answer does not carry over, and LSC’s own conversion is what says so: it puts parity aid’s 490th of 612 at the 80th percentile, where the fortieth highest of 609 leaves 569 districts below it and sits at the 93rd. verified
It was never a budget decision, which is why no budget analysis explains it Contents
The empty trace is structural rather than accidental. H.B. 1 of the 134th — the bill the plan was drafted in, which passed the House and died in the Senate four months before H.B. 110 enacted the formula — already writes “the fortieth highest ratio”, three times, in the division that survives verbatim in force today. A greenbook explains what a budget changed; this budget did not choose the number, it adopted a drafted plan whole. The absence is not LSC declining to explain a choice. There was no choice in front of it to explain. verified
What this does not say. Not that the number was arbitrary. Whatever work chose forty sits upstream of H.B. 1, in the plan workgroup’s own documentation, and no budget analysis would carry it. The claim is that the fourteen analyses do not answer it, that the one place Ohio’s greenbooks do justify a rank threshold is the regime this measure replaced, and that the question has to be put to the plan rather than to the budget. inference
The section names a certification the state was not making Contents
R.C. 3317.017 takes every income term “as certified under section 3317.021 of the Revised Code” — four times, once for each income input it uses, and those four are the section’s only citations of it; the valuation term cites nothing. This corpus had never fetched that section.
It certifies less than the formula asks for, and did so from the day the plan was enacted: until
30 September 2025 division (A)(5) named the district’s total federal AGI and its median
Ohio AGI, where (A)(3) of the capacity blend needs the median federal AGI and a count of
returns. Neither was certified, for four years. verified crates/project/tests/what_the_tax_commissioner_was_never_asked_to_certify.rs
That is the account this node has been missing for its own recorded error. An earlier pass did not guess Ohio median income out of the air; it is the median the state’s certification statute actually produces, and reading the formula section’s requirement against the certification section’s supply is how the substitution became plausible. inference
H.B. 96 moved the gap instead of closing it. Item 9 of the act substituted the median for the total at (A)(5) rather than adding it, so the aggregate term at R.C. 3317.017(A)(2) now cites a certification that no longer exists; and the returns count it added at (A)(6) is limited to FY2026 and FY2027 while (A)(5) beside it is permanent, so the two halves of one product expire on different schedules. None of it reaches a payment — the department computes both terms and this corpus reproduces its answer for 609 of 609 districts — but a blend whose inputs have never all been certified is a different object from one whose inputs have. verified
The decision is stable. The distribution is not. Contents
That last question framed itself correctly and answered itself wrongly. The corpus holds
two years of the calculator — the department serves FY2027 and the Internet Archive has
FY2026 — and the catalog entry for the earlier one recorded a decision not to extract its
per-district tables, on the ground that they “are the FY2027 model’s a year earlier and the
counts are very nearly identical”. That was measured on bus miles and rider counts, which are
a survey a year apart and are stable. This column is not. verified crates/project
The decision — the fortieth-highest district’s income ratio, [C5] — moves from 1.46670942
to 1.46503636, a tenth of a per cent. The rate [C6] it caps moves 0.13% at the median. And
the per-pupil amount [b1] those two produce moves $472.44, which is 9.3% in one year.
verified
That is one half of a subtraction, and the other half is frozen Contents
A district’s state share of its base cost is (base cost per pupil − capacity per pupil) / base cost per pupil. The capacity side reads the three most recent tax years and the window
rolls forward annually: FY2026’s sheet heads them TY2024, TY2023 and TY2022, FY2027’s heads
them TY2025, TY2024 and TY2023. The cost side does not roll. H.B. 96 retains FY2022 cost inputs
and maintains the FY2024 statewide averages through FY2027, so the median district’s base cost
per pupil moves $4.11 while its capacity moves $472.44. verified
The consequence is arithmetic:
median district's state share FY2026 41.40% FY2027 36.00%
the state's share of the aggregate FY2026 35.35% FY2027 31.52%
districts the 10% floor binds for FY2026 105 FY2027 138
The median district’s state share falls 4.11 percentage points in one year, and it falls in 540 of 609 districts. 33 districts that were on a computed share in FY2026 are on the floor in FY2027. The 4.11 is the median of the per-district falls and the 5.40 between the two levels above is the fall in the median district, which is a different statistic; both are reported because quoting either alone invites the other reading. verified
And the fall is the capacity side alone. Pair FY2027’s own base cost with FY2026’s capacity and the median state share comes back to 41.23% — a sixth of a point from where FY2026 published it. Freezing one side of a subtraction while the other tracks the property market is a reduction in the state’s share that requires no vote and appears in no act. verified
What this does not say. Not that state aid fell. FY2026 ran at an 83.33% phase-in and
FY2027 at 100%, so foundation funding rises across the same interval; what falls is the
fraction of a district’s costed education that the state’s formula assigns to the state.
It has been shown the comparison, and this node recorded otherwise for want of reading the
other edition. LSC’s analysis of H.B. 96 as introduced carries a section headed “State share
of the base cost, property values, and local capacity” that names both clocks — base cost inputs
held “at FY 2022 levels”, the statewide weighted capacity per pupil projected to rise 8.2% then
7.2% — attributes the falling state share to “increases in property values and income levels
used in computing district per-pupil local contributions”, states the consequence as a series of
statewide averages running 38.4% in FY2025 to 35.0% and then 32.2%, and says in the next
sentence that this “in turn reduces projected funding for the categorical components”. verified crates/project
Those are LSC’s projections for a bill as introduced and this corpus’s are computed from the department’s two enacted models, and they agree: 35.0% against the 35.35% above, 32.2% against 31.52%, and a one-year fall of 2.8 points against 3.8. Two methods, two vintages and two editions of the bill land within a point of each other, which makes the finding a reconciliation as well as an answer about awareness. The series has a published beginning too — H.B. 110 put the statewide average state share percentage at 42.8% in FY2022. verified
The edition that describes the law is the one that is silent Contents
That section appears in the redbook and nowhere else. H.B. 96’s greenbook keeps the phase-in table and one clause of its Quick look, “while maintaining FY 2022 base cost inputs”, and carries neither the capacity growth rates nor the state share percentages nor the sentence joining them. A reader who goes to the analysis of the act as passed — the document about the law — gets one clock and no account of what runs against it. verified
Awareness is not intent. The legislature was told what holding the cost side still would do to the state’s share and enacted the freeze; no analysis says the divergence was the object of the exercise, and this node does not claim it was. inference
The valuation is the lesser of two, and the rule is one-sided Contents
R.C. 3317.017(A)(1)(a) takes the minimum of a district’s three-year average valuation and its most recent taxable value; the income side takes the same shape. Under rising valuations the average is lower, so the district is charged on a lagged figure; under falling valuations the recent year is lower and the fall passes straight through. 602 of 609 districts are on the lagged branch and 7 on the immediate one — the seven whose valuation fell, none by more than 1.15%.
The rule therefore never charges a district on the higher of its two measures. That makes it
a floor on the state’s share wearing the clothes of a smoothing device, and the asymmetry is
invisible in any one district’s figures. verified crates/local-capacity, held to the department’s figures in
crates/xcheck/tests/against_the_departments_own_capacity.rs
And it is the charge-off’s instinct in a new device. The mechanism this replaced also lagged revaluation, through recognized valuation — a three-year phase-in of the inflationary increase. Two regimes, the same judgment that a reappraisal should not reach state aid all at once, and two different implementations. A reader told only that the plan “uses a three-year average” would not see that it is the successor to something. verified
What it divides by, and where that lands Contents
The measure’s numerator is unambiguously resident. Assessed valuation is the district’s whole tax
base and federal adjusted gross income is its residents’ income; neither moves when a child leaves
for a community school. The denominator does. Table SD-1 counts 222,923 children resident in a
district that its base cost enrolled ADM does not — Youngstown’s resident count is 2.30 times the
one it teaches and Columbus’s 1.69 — so the measure appears to charge a district for wealth
supporting children it does not teach. verified crates/project
Against base cost it does not, and the reason is arithmetic rather than policy.
R.C. 3317.017 divides all three wealth terms by base cost enrolled ADM — (A)(1)(b), (A)(2)(b) and
(A)(3)(c), in as many words — and division (B) multiplies the residual back by enrolled ADM. The
count cancels. What Ohio charges is (0.6 V + 0.2 AGI + 0.2 M × R) × rate, a number of dollars
set by wealth alone, and it comes to $8.894bn across the 609. A departing pupil costs a
district exactly one base cost per pupil and never more: the residual is zero for the 80 districts
whose two pupil counts coincide and positive — in the district’s favor — for every other, because
base cost enrolled ADM is a three-year maximum that takes a year to follow a departure down.
verified crates/project
Nor is the departed child funded twice. R.C. 3317.022 makes the community and STEM school unit
and the four scholarship units funding units of their own, and gives the first of them the
aggregate base cost at (A)(1)(b) with no state share term at all. Every community-school, STEM
and scholarship deduction left in the committed extract reads “as that division existed prior to
September 30, 2021” and survives only inside the FY2020 funding base R.C. 3317.02(N)(1)
reconstructs. The chapter still deducts for two things — a county DD board’s preschool services
at R.C. 3317.0213(C) and an enforcement remedy at R.C. 3327.02(F)(2) — and neither is this
channel. So there is no deduct to net against, which is what makes the question answerable rather
than merely arguable; the department’s own transfer lines bound the same conclusion from the
other end, at
DistrictRecord::total_transfers. verified
The categorical channel is where the denominator lands instead Contents
Four of the six categoricals — special education, English learners, gifted and career-technical — are multiplied by the district’s state share percentage, which R.C. 3317.022(A)(3), (5) and (6) attach to districts by name and to no other funding unit. A percentage is a ratio of two per-pupil figures, so nothing cancels and the denominator passes straight through it.
$2.432bn of special education, English learner and career-technical entitlement is computed
for the 609 districts, and the local share takes 66.6% of it. The community and STEM school
unit is charged none. Columbus City’s state share percentage is 10.25%, so the state pays a
community school nearly ten times what it pays Columbus for the same category-six pupil — and
Columbus’s percentage is what it is because two in every five of its resident children are in
neither the numerator nor the denominator of the measure that sets it. verified crates/project
The plan already reaches for a resident count, one section away Contents
R.C. 3317.0217(C)(1) builds targeted assistance’s wealth per pupil from the same two certified
numerators this section supplies at (A)(1)(a) and (A)(2)(a), and divides them by enrolled ADM
less those open-enrolling in plus those open-enrolling out. The department’s published [D]
reproduces from exactly that, for all 609. So the plan does have a resident denominator — and it
takes exactly one of the ten channels R.C. 3317.03(A)(2) lists. It moves 2,098 pupils
statewide against the 222,923 above, which is nine-tenths of one per cent of it. Community school,
STEM and scholarship students are corrected for in neither measure. verified crates/project
The exposure, priced in both directions Contents
Divide local capacity by Table SD-1’s resident count instead and the aid this measure reaches
moves from $4.513bn to $5.355bn — $842.5m. That is not a re-basing anyone should want:
it would credit a district with a lower capacity per pupil on account of children the state
already funds in full through another funding unit. What it measures is how much of the charge the
denominator is carrying, and where. verified crates/project
119 districts would lose by it, $57.5m in total and up to $2,671 a pupil. They are the net
open-enrollment-in districts, whose resident count is smaller than the one they teach; the
divergence has two signs and a correction priced on the gainers alone does not see them. 33 of
the 138 districts on the 10% floor would come off it. verified crates/project
And the divergence orders nothing. The correlation between a district’s resident-to-funded
ratio and its published state share percentage is 0.0657 over 609. Youngstown has the largest
divergence in the state and a 71.0% state share; Columbus has the ninth and a 10.2% one. The
hypothesis that the denominator is what makes the poorest urban districts’ shares low is refuted
on its own terms — what it does instead is ride on top of the progressivity, and land on the
categoricals. verified crates/project
The two treatments are not one division apart Contents
This node left as a live question whether the General Assembly intends the state share percentage to
discount a district’s special education and English learner funding by a ratio computed on a
count that excludes the children it has lost, on the ground that “nothing in R.C. 3317.022 says
either way”. It says so nine times. The section does not state the qualifier once in a
general provision; it repeats “if the funding unit is a city, local, or exempted village school
district, the district’s state share percentage” inside each of the six special education
categories at (A)(3)(a) and each of the three English learner categories at (A)(5)(a). verified crates/project, what_the_general_assembly_was_shown
And LSC put it in front of legislators in every biennium of the plan’s life, with a reason
attached. H.B. 110’s analysis says the categoricals for community and STEM schools are computed
as they are for districts “except that a state share percentage is not applied”; H.B. 33 and
H.B. 96 give the ground — “since these schools do not have taxing authority” — and H.B. 96 puts
the consequence in a sentence: “the state share for community and STEM schools is effectively
100%”. verified crates/project
That reason is about the recipient. It answers why a community school is charged nothing and says
nothing whatever about which children the district’s percentage is divided by. The
denominator gets one sentence in fourteen analyses, in the ADM section rather than beside the
percentage it sets: the budget “replaces ‘Formula ADM’ with ‘Enrolled ADM’ which counts the
number of students being educated in a district or school”, against a prior-law count that began
with students residing in the district. verified crates/project The only reason LSC ever
gives for the denominator is the three-year maximum, which is about the count’s vintage and not
about who is in it. So the two treatments are not symmetric unknowns. One is written out nine
times and explained three times; the other is a definitional consequence that no document
connects to it.
The General Assembly priced this effect, and then repealed the price Contents
H.B. 110 created supplemental targeted assistance for the 36 districts whose enrolled ADM was
under 88% of their total residential ADM and whose FY2019 wealth index exceeded 1.6 —
$56.4m in FY2022. H.B. 96 eliminated it, and the repeal paragraph states this node’s own
unanswered question as the thing being eliminated: those districts “might appear relatively wealthier on a per-pupil
basis because of changes in how the formula in place since FY 2022 counts students relative to
the previous formula and thus receive less state aid”, $52.5m to 36 districts in FY2025.
verified crates/project
The question was therefore not unasked. It was asked, priced, and the price struck in the biennium this corpus models.
What a correction confined to the categoricals would cost, and who it would reach Contents
Re-basing is two operations and the $842.5m above is their sum. $659.1m of it is relief on the
local charge itself — the part that credits a district for children another funding unit already
pays for in full, which is the part nobody should want. $183.4m is the categorical channel,
where the percentage is a ratio and nothing cancels. Confining the correction there leaves
R.C. 3317.017 untouched and re-computes only the ratio R.C. 3317.022 multiplies by. verified crates/project
It costs a fifth of the wholesale figure and harms a tenth as much: $191.2m to 385 districts
against $7.8m off the same 119, where wholesale re-basing took $57.5m off them. The losers
lose through the charge, not through the percentage, so the caveat this node attached to the
wholesale number — that a correction priced on the gainers alone does not see them — very nearly
dissolves once the correction is confined. verified crates/project
And it lands almost exactly on the repealed supplement, for the districts that supplement
reached. The 36 qualifiers would take $48.7m of it, against the $52.5m they were being paid
until FY2026. But $142.6m would go to districts the supplement never covered, because its
second gate was a wealth test: Columbus City teaches 65.6% of its resident children and would take
$41.7m on its own, and its FY2019 wealth index is 1.197, under the 1.6 threshold. Cincinnati
fails the same gate at 1.044. The instrument aimed at this effect excluded the two districts
carrying the most of it. verified crates/project
The open-enrollment adjustment is a choice, not an inheritance Contents
R.C. 3317.0217(C)(1) subtracts the students of R.C. 3317.03(A)(1)(b) and adds those of (A)(2)(d):
open enrollment in and out. (A)(2) runs (a) through (j) — community school, alternative school,
college, open enrollment, educational service center, compact district, nonpublic scholarship,
provider scholarship, STEM school, college-preparatory boarding school. The adjustment takes one
of ten, from the subsection it is citing. verified crates/project
It cannot be an artifact of the section predating the choice channels. R.C. 3317.0217’s current
text was written by H.B. 110, the same act that replaced the residence count with the attendance
one, twenty-four years after Ohio’s first community school. The section number is older and
belonged to parity aid in 2001, which is a trap this corpus already records —
H.B. 94 — but the number is not the provision. verified crates/project
Prior law put those children in the denominator and out of the multiplier Contents
There was no partial residence count for H.B. 110 to rebuild badly. Under the H.B. 59 regime
total ADM was “the number of all students who reside in the district” and formula ADM was
total ADM less 80% of JVSD ADM — a residence count for every channel but one, and that one
carved out only because JVSDs are paid by a separate formula rather than by deduction, “so that
these students are not double counted”. Targeted assistance’s wealth per pupil divided by formula
ADM, so the choice children were in the denominator. verified crates/project
They were taken out of the multiplier instead, and LSC states the reason: “an adjustment is
made to the formula ADM of each district so as to not credit the district with targeted assistance
for students educated through these programs.” The netting list is e-schools, EdChoice, Jon
Peterson and 75% of non-e-school community schools — and open enrollment is not in it.
verified crates/project
The two corrections are not complements, though. Prior law’s netting list names three of the
ten channels R.C. 3317.03(A)(2) lists — community school, EdChoice, Jon Peterson — and the new
denominator adjustment reaches one, open enrollment. Together they reach four. Alternative schools,
College Credit Plus, educational service centers, compact districts, STEM schools and
college-preparatory boarding schools are reached by neither. verified crates/project
What is continuous is narrower and exact: the one channel prior law let a district keep targeted assistance for is the one channel the new denominator adds back. Open enrollment’s deduct was computed on the formula amount and career-technical weight, so targeted assistance never followed an open-enrolling child, and prior law did not net one out. R.C. 3317.0217(C)(1) reproduces that treatment in a regime where the count changed from residence to attendance. inference
And this is the component the denominator reaches furthest into Contents
R.C. 3317.0217(C)(1) is the one place the plan already concedes the principle. It divides weighted wealth by a residence-flavored count and multiplies the resulting rate by enrolled ADM — so targeted assistance already measures wealth against the children a district is responsible for and pays against the children it teaches. The question it leaves is only how far that count reaches.
Run the same denominator out to Table SD-1’s resident count, holding the enrolled-ADM multiplier
fixed, and the wealth tier moves from $1.030bn to $1.463bn — $433.1m, to 489 districts,
against $0.3m off seven. That is 2.4 times what the four categoricals carry, and it is a
channel neither this node nor #384 had priced. verified crates/project
The reconstruction is checked against the department’s published [F] before the counterfactual
is run on it, because the failure mode is silent: [D] divides by the adjusted count and [F]
multiplies by enrolled ADM, and using the adjusted count for both overstates the tier by a factor
of 38 while still returning a plausible number. verified crates/project
open Whether the General Assembly weighed the reach of R.C. 3317.0217(C)(1)‘s denominator when it wrote it. See issue #399.
A hazard for anyone reading the supplement’s name backwards Contents
“Supplemental targeted assistance” under H.B. 64 was an agricultural payment — a district’s
agricultural real property percentage less 10%, times 40% of the formula amount, and “only
districts with more than 10% agricultural real property qualify”. H.B. 110’s payment of the same
name is keyed on residence against attendance and reaches, in LSC’s words, “primarily lower
wealth, urban districts”. The name is continuous across the greenbooks and the program is not.
verified crates/project
There is no millage term, so the measure cannot see a levy Contents
The blend is valuation and income, and the rate that scales it is computed from income. Nothing in
it is a tax rate anybody votes on: the department’s FY2027 model carries 165 columns and the only
one of them that is a rate at all is capacity_rate, R.C. 3317.017(A)(4)‘s sliding scale.
verified crates/project Two districts with the same tax base and twenty mills between their
effective rates are charged the same local capacity to the cent.
So a district is charged for its tax base and never for its tax rate. Passing a levy costs it
no state aid and failing to pass one gains it none, which dissolves rather than answers the
question of whether the plan rewards low local effort: effort is not an input. What the measure
does charge for is assessed value, and that charge is real — about 1.2 cents of state aid per
dollar of taxable value once the rise has worked through (A)(1)(a)‘s three-year average. It is
0.6 x capacity rate, amplified by the four categoricals R.C. 3317.022 multiplies by the state
share percentage. verified crates/project
It reaches 268 districts of 609. For the other 341 it is exactly zero: 138 sit on the
minimum state share, where the floor censors the whole
quantity the charge would come out of, and the rest are held by the
guarantee or by
[K], which puts the loss straight back. verified crates/project
Of the 268, 181 are above the twenty-mill floor, where H.B. 920’s reduction factors mean the value they are charged for yields them no revenue whatever — see that parameter for what the two sides of the boundary collect. verified crates/project
Where any agency exists is a school board’s part in consenting to property tax exemptions, an exemption being the one instrument that lowers the base this charge is levied on. open Nothing in this repository models abatement and no catalog record reaches district-level exempt value, so whether 1.2 cents is large enough to move a consent vote is not answered here.
Properties Contents
| Name | FSFP local capacity measure |
|---|---|
| Calculation | |
| Statutory basis | R.C. 3317.017; state share and state share percentage at 3317.017(B) and (C). verified |
| Calculator | local-capacity |
Where this appears on the site Contents
The pages outside the corpus that link here, and the section of each the link sits in.
Links Contents
| Instance of | Formula Component |
|---|---|
| Replaces | Charge-Off Local Share |
| Distributes | State Foundation Aid |
| Makes measurable | Equity |
| Determines | State Share Percentage |
| Sourced from | School Finance Payment Report — Line by Line Explanation |
| Governed by | Local Capacity Percentage |
| Governed by | Minimum State Share |
Also mentions
Pointed at by
| Cleveland Municipal School District | mentions |
|---|---|
| Northern Local School District (Perry County) | mentions |
| Charge-Off Local Share | mentions |
| FSFP JVSD State Share of Base Cost | Parallels |
| FSFP Targeted Assistance | Shares wealth measure with |
| Temporary Transitional Aid Guarantee | Counteracts |
| Fair School Funding Plan | Made up of |
| Am. Sub. H.B. 64 (2015) — FY2016-17 Budget; Capacity Aid | mentions |
| Assessed Valuation Per Pupil | mentions |
| Local Capacity Percentage | Read by |
| Minimum State Share | Read by |
| Twenty-Mill Floor | mentions |
| FSFP Cost Input Refresh vs. Freeze | mentions |
What this node used to say Contents
The corpus is not rewritten to have always been right. Each entry is a claim this node carried, what replaced it, and the thing that settled it.
Correction 1 of 12
It said
Whether the General Assembly had ever been shown the comparison between the rising phase-in and the rolling capacity window was recorded as “not established by anything here”.
It says
It was shown it. LSC’s analysis of H.B. 96 as introduced devotes a section to exactly this comparison, names both clocks, and states the falling statewide state share percentage as a series — 38.4%, 35.0%, 32.2% — whose middle two figures land within a point of what this corpus computes from the department’s own two models.
Settled by
crates/project/tests/the_two_clocks_the_plan_runs_on.rs, reading both editions of the
analysis rather than the enacted one alone.
What else it touched
“Not established by anything here” was true of this node and was read as a fact about the
documents. The reason it survived is that the finding is in the redbook and not the
greenbook: the enacted analysis drops the section entirely, so every search that went to
the document about the law came back empty and the emptiness looked like an answer.
ledger::budget_analysis::Edition exists because the two editions differ in three words of
column heading; here they differ by a whole finding, and the edition that describes a bill
nobody enacted is the one that holds it.
Correction 2 of 12
It said
R.C. 3317.03(A)(2) was recorded as listing nine channels, and the open-enrollment adjustment as taking “one of nine”. The count reached four paragraphs of this node, a test asserting how many channels neither regime corrects, the body of issue #399 and a decision record.
It says
It lists ten, (a) through (j) — the tenth is a college-preparatory boarding school under Chapter 3328 — and it has listed ten since H.B. 1 of the 134th was introduced. The adjustment takes one of ten, and six channels are reached by neither regime rather than five.
Settled by
crates/project/tests/the_bill_the_plan_was_drafted_in.rs, which counts the list in the
bill and in force and asserts the two are equal.
What else it touched
The nine came from reading the section through a fixed-width slice that ended inside item (i), so the last entry was never on screen. Nothing downstream could catch it: every later reader took the count from this node’s prose rather than from the statute, and a test was written that asserted a figure derived from it. A count taken off a truncated print is indistinguishable from a count, and the only thing that surfaced it was setting two independent copies of the same list side by side and requiring them to agree — which was done for a different reason entirely.
Correction 3 of 12
It said
The open-enrollment adjustment and prior law’s multiplier netting were recorded as “a matched pair, and H.B. 110 kept one” — the half that “had no home on the payment side” once the deduct architecture was abolished.
It says
They are not complements. Prior law’s netting reaches three of the ten channels of R.C. 3317.03(A)(2) and the new adjustment reaches one; six are reached by neither. What is continuous is exact but narrower: open enrollment is the one channel prior law let a district keep targeted assistance for, and it is the one the new denominator adds back.
Settled by
prior_laws_netting_reaches_three_channels_and_the_new_adjustment_reaches_one, which counts
the netting list against the ten channels rather than reading it as a set.
What else it touched
“Complement” was inferred from one absence — open enrollment missing from the netting list — without checking the other eight channels against it. One matching absence is not a partition, and a tidy story about two halves of a design is the kind that survives because it is pleasant. Neither regime ever had a principled denominator; the error was supposing the old one did.
Correction 4 of 12
It said
The open-enrollment adjustment in R.C. 3317.0217(C)(1) was left as a question about drafting — “why H.B. 110 reconstructed the open-enrollment channel of the old residence count and not the other eight, when all nine were on the page of the section it cross-referenced.”
It says
There was no partial count to reconstruct. Prior law’s formula ADM was a residence count for every channel but the JVSD carve-out, and the choice children were netted out of targeted assistance’s multiplier rather than its denominator. H.B. 110’s adjustment covers open enrollment, which is the one channel that netting list omits — so the question is not why one of nine, but whether the surviving half of a matched pair was kept deliberately.
Settled by
crates/project/tests/what_the_general_assembly_was_shown.rs, against hb59-greenbook,
which states the whole prior-law architecture in one page.
What else it touched
The framing was written from the current section and the current cross-reference, and both were read correctly — the error was in supposing the old formula had the same shape. A count that is nine-tenths short of a gap invites “incomplete” as the explanation, and incompleteness is the one reading the predecessor rules out. When a provision looks like a partial version of an older one, read the older one rather than inferring it from the gap.
Correction 5 of 12
It said
Whether the General Assembly intends the state share percentage to discount a district’s special education and English learner funding by a ratio computed on a pupil count that excludes the children it has lost was left unanswered, on the ground that “nothing in R.C. 3317.022 says either way, and the two treatments are one division apart”.
It says
R.C. 3317.022 says so nine times — the conditional is written into each of the six special education categories and each of the three English learner ones rather than stated once — and LSC restated the exemption to legislators in three consecutive bienniums with a reason attached. The General Assembly then built supplemental targeted assistance against the denominator half, priced it at $56.4m for 36 districts, and H.B. 96 repealed it at $52.5m while leaving the discount in place. The two treatments are not symmetric unknowns: one is deliberate and documented, the other is a definitional consequence no document connects to it.
Settled by
crates/project/tests/what_the_general_assembly_was_shown.rs, which checks each quotation
against the committed statute extract and the fourteen committed LSC analyses.
What else it touched
The question was written from the section’s operative formula rather than from its subdivisions, and from the absence of a general provision rather than from the presence of nine specific ones — a qualifier repeated nine times reads as boilerplate on a skim and is the opposite of silence. The greenbooks were never asked, though this corpus already records them as the route for a question the current code cannot answer. Both halves of a “nothing says either way” are claims about documents, and neither had been run against the documents.
Correction 6 of 12
It said
The statewide median income [I7] was recorded as “published on the sheet rather than
derivable”, and the 40th-highest benchmark [C5] as a discretionary number a reconstruction
had no reason to recover — on the strength of a run that gave 41,502 and 1.4151 against a
published 54,546.64 and 1.46504.
It says
Both are exactly derivable from the district medians the same fixture carries, as R.C. 3317.017(A)(4) defines them: the median of the 609 is $54,546.6375 and the fortieth highest ratio is Westlake City’s 1.46503636. Neither is a number anybody sets.
Settled by
crates/xcheck/tests/against_the_departments_own_capacity.rs, which derives both
from the panel and checks them against the published figures.
What else it touched
The failed reconstruction was run on the Ohio median income column rather than the federal one — the same substitution this node already records as the 4.4% error — so the two “underivable” constants were that one wrong input propagating, counted twice more. An error already corrected in one place went on being cited as evidence in two others, and what it was taken as evidence for was a claim about the statute: that the top of the scale is discretionary. It is a rank, which this node says four paragraphs further down.
Correction 7 of 12
It said
Nothing recorded what R.C. 3317.021 certifies, though R.C. 3317.017 names it for every income term the blend uses.
It says
It certifies less than the blend asks for. Until 30 September 2025 it named the total federal and median Ohio AGI, where the capacity measure needs the median federal AGI and a count of returns — so two of the blend’s inputs had no certification behind them for four years. H.B. 96 supplied them by substitution, and left the aggregate term citing a certification that no longer exists.
Settled by
R.C. 3317.021 itself, now committed to the statute extract, in
crates/project/tests/what_the_tax_commissioner_was_never_asked_to_certify.rs.
What else it touched
It explains this node’s own recorded error rather than adding one. The Ohio median income an earlier pass inferred the third term from is exactly what the certification statute produces, so the guess was the certification section answering the formula section’s question. A citation that is never followed can conceal that the two sections disagree.
Correction 8 of 12
It said
The comparison against the charge-off was run on total taxable value: Ottawa Hills charged 69% more and Jefferson Township 26% less, 413 of 606 districts better off under this measure against 193 under the charge-off, 81 districts zeroed, and every valuation quintile better off at $154.85, $102.38, $107.60, $193.23 and $873.92 per pupil.
It says
The charge-off’s base was recognized valuation, which is smaller. On it Ottawa Hills is charged 101% more and Jefferson Township 22% less, 316 districts would have done better under the charge-off against 290 under this measure, 65 are zeroed, and only the top quintile still gains: −$118.47, −$231.81, −$294.46, −$365.14, +$632.23.
Settled by
crates/regime-diff/tests/the_charge_off_against_local_capacity.rs, which asserts the
corrected figures beside the superseded ones so the old base cannot be restored quietly.
What else it touched
“Every quintile does better” was an artifact of overstating the charge-off by about 8%
for everyone, and the headline direction reversed with it. The shape survives — this
measure is genuinely more generous to property-rich districts — because recognized
valuation is close to a uniform proportional discount, so it moves a level and leaves an
ordering alone. The correction reached crates/regime-diff and
Local Share Charge-Off Millage
before it reached this node, which published the superseded run under [verified] in the
interval.
Correction 9 of 12
It said
The 40th-highest benchmark was recorded as “a single discretionary number that sets the top of the entire scale”, with how it moves over time left open.
It says
The statute writes a rank, not a value. Districts are ranked by the ratio of their federal median income to the statewide median, and the district with the fortieth highest ratio is the point at which the capacity percentage caps at 0.025. Both halves of the open question are settled by the text.
Settled by
R.C. 3317.017(A)(4)(c)–(d).
What else it touched
Changes what the parameter is rather than what it equals. A rank moves whenever the income distribution moves, with nobody deciding — which puts it in a different kind from the discretionary number it was recorded as.
Correction 10 of 12
It said
Capacity was derived as base cost minus the state’s share of it, because no published per-district figure was thought to exist.
It says
The FY2027 calculator’s Detail_SFPR sheet carries [b1] Per Pupil Capacity Amount for
every district, and always did. Nothing here had read that sheet.
Settled by
The Detail_SFPR sheet of the department’s own FY2027 workbook.
What else it touched
The subtraction is exact for 471 districts and impossible for the 138 where the minimum state share binds — precisely the districts where capacity is highest and the subtraction understates it. Those were censored rather than reported wrong, so no published figure was incorrect; 138 districts simply had no capacity figure for eleven phases.
Correction 11 of 12
It said
The minimum state share was encoded in crates/local-capacity as 5%, the floor the
Fair School Funding Plan was enacted with.
It says
It is 10%. The department’s FY2027 calculator states 0.1 for both FY2026 and FY2027
on its Notes sheet, in as many words.
Settled by
The Notes sheet of the department’s own FY2027 workbook.
What else it touched
Large, and in a specific direction: 138 districts sit on the floor, so for those the measure does not determine aid at all and the doubled minimum is the whole of what they receive. It also censors the data — where the floor binds, local capacity per pupil cannot be recovered by subtraction.
Correction 12 of 12
It said
The calculator was described as unimplementable because the repository held no income data at any level, and the benchmark’s value was recorded as discretionary and unexplained.
It says
The workbook carries a Local_Capacity sheet that works the entire statute step by step
under its own labels, and every term the corpus had inferred was the wrong one. On the
published inputs the residual is zero.
Settled by
The Local_Capacity sheet of the FY2027 calculator, reproduced in
crates/xcheck/tests/against_the_departments_own_capacity.rs for 609 of 609
districts.
What else it touched
The 4.4% gap the corpus had been carrying was not a finding about the measure — it was the distance between the statute as inferred and the statute as published. A residual computed against guessed inputs measures the guess.